Books, Faith, Faith, Flour, & Sawdust

5 Love Languages

The 5 Love Languages: the Secret to Love that Lasts Book Cover The 5 Love Languages: the Secret to Love that Lasts
Gary Chapman
Northfield Publishing
December 11, 2014

Falling in love is easy. Staying in love—that’s the challenge! How can you keep your relationship fresh and growing amid the demands, conflicts, and just plain boredom of everyday life?

In the #1 New York Times bestseller The 5 Love Languages, you’ll discover the secret that has transformed millions of relationships worldwide. Whether your relationship is flourishing or failing, Dr. Gary Chapman’s proven approach to showing and receiving love will help you experience deeper and richer levels of intimacy with your partner—starting today.

The 5 Love Languages is as practical as it is insightful. Updated to reflect the complexities of relationships today, this new edition reveals intrinsic truths and applies relevant, actionable wisdom in ways that work.

What is your love language?

I borrowed this book from my friend, Donna and three chapters in I forgot it wasn’t my copy and I started writing my notes in it. This is how you know I really like a book. Now I don’t have the book to look up key points I want to tell you but I will try to get the point to you.

What makes one person feel loved emotionally is not always the thing that makes another person feel loved emotionally. This was deep and I think something that is we are learning and remember relationships would have more of a fighting chance. I think this was a wake call for me, I was understanding that what makes me tick ticks, my husband, off.

20 years of marriage

In our 20 years of marriage, we have had our share of struggles and time when we just didn’t want to be around each other. We always found a way back to each other and the love we knew we shared with each other. But I thought there was a way out there to get more out of our marriage. In 2017 we went from 5 people living in our house to 3. My oldest son decided to finally adult and moved out, then my 19-year daughter went off to college. This left my husband, my 14-year-old son, and myself. It was a huge change and I didn’t want us to grow apart, so I read this book.

What are the 5 love languages?

  • Gifts
  • Quality Time
  • Words of Affirmation
  • Acts of Service
  • Physical Touch

WARNING: Understanding the five love languages and learning to speak the primary love language of your spouse may radically affect his or her behavior. People behave differently when their emotional love tanks are full.

What we learned as a family

My love language is Acts of Service

My husband and daughter are Quality Time.

My youngest son is Physical Touch

We may never know what my oldest son is. He never took the test.

What is your love language? You can find out here.

I want you all to have a blessed day, love the ones you are with, and remember we are not guaranteed tomorrow but we are guaranteed coffee today.